Site Logo
HACU Tagline

June 29, 2016

Lupe Flores

USDA Selects 2016 Class of E. Kika De La Garza Fellows

The U.S. Department of Agriculture recently announced the 12 fellows of the 2016 class of the E. Kika De La Garza Fellowship Program. Their selection was based on the compatibility of their interests with USDA mission areas, as well as the value their experiences will add to their institutions' educational capacities.  Most of the fellows are working at HACU-member institutions, indicated in bold below.

The 2016 E. Kika De La Garza Fellows are:

  • Mario Castaneda, GateWay Community College (Phoenix, Ariz.)
  • Kristina Hunt, Humboldt State University (Arcata, Calif.)
    - Michelle Neyman Morris, California State University, Chico (Chico, Calif.)
  • Mary Willis, California State University, Fresno (Fresno, Calif.)
  • Jiaxin Zhao, West Hills College Lemoore (Lemoore, Calif.)
  • Valerie J. Mellano, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona (Pomona, Calif)
  • Waverly Ray, San Diego Mesa College (San Diego, Calif.)
  • Sanhita Datta, San Jose City College (San Jose, Calif.)
  • Jairo R. Ledesma, Florida International University (Miami, Fla.)
  • Yuchou Chang, University of Houston - Downtown (Houston, Texas)
  • Jaclyn L. Shaw, The University of Texas at San Antonio (San Antonio, Texas)
  • Adeola Coker, University of the Incarnate Word (San Antonio, Texas)