Site Logo
HACU Tagline

 June 29, 2017

Selection committee for the ¡Lánzate! Travel Award Program meets at HACU headquarters

The selection committee for the 13th Annual “Giving Flight to Your Success™/Dándole Alas a Tu Éxito™" ¡Lánzate! Travel Award Program, sponsored by Southwest Airlines and the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU), met in San Antonio, Texas, at HACU's headquarters. Through this national education initiative, Southwest Airlines will award roundtrip e-pass(es) to undergraduate and graduate students across the country who travel away from home to pursue a higher education.

The selection committee members are: 

• Etiony Aldarondo, Ph.D., provost, Albizu University – Miami Campus
• Cuauhtemoc Avila, Ed.D., superintendent, Rialto Unified School District
• Lorena Blanco-Silva, program manager, Division for Equity and Inclusion/Office of the Provost, University of New Mexico
• Rosie Castro, former interim dean, Student Success, Palo Alto College
• Allison M. Cotton, Ph.D., professor of criminology, Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology, Metropolitan State University of Denver
• Frankie Miranda, senior vice president, Hispanic Federation
• Jeanette Morales, director for PK-12 Initiatives, HACU
• Florencia Velasco, president and CEO, The Concilio
• Monalisa Vitela, senior director, ICOE-Alternative Education
• Patricia Witherspoon, Ph.D., dean, College of Liberal Arts, The University of Texas at El Paso

Awardees will be announced in fall 2017.