Site Logo
HACU Tagline

 April 1, 2019

Chris de Hoyos 

U.S. Congressman Diaz-Balart to Co-Chair Congressional HSI Caucus

The Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities has announced Congressman, Mario Diaz-Balart, will serve as a new co-chair to the Congressional Hispanic-Serving Institution Caucus. Congressman Diaz-Balart replaces former Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen in the Caucus and joins Rep. Susan Davis, Rep. Raul Grijalva, and Rep. Will Hurd as co-chairs. Read release here

HACU re-established the Congressional HSI Caucus in order to keep Members of Congress and their staff informed about the value and impact of HSIs in their districts and communities. Despite a significant growth in the number of HSIs as well as the number of low-income and first-generation students in those institutions, federal investments have remained stagnant over the past decade. 

“We look forward to working with Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart as he joins this important bipartisan HSI Caucus,” said HACU President and CEO Antonio R. Flores. “His leadership and expertise within the U.S. Congress will serve to propel the work of the Caucus and enhance advocacy efforts on behalf of Hispanic-Serving Institutions and the more than 4.4 million undergraduate students they serve.”

The HSI Caucus provides a valuable opportunity to engage Members of Congress in a dialogue about the development of additional resources and legislative opportunities for HSIs.

The following representatives and *co-chairs serve on the Congressional HSI Caucus:

  • Rep. Pete Aguilar (D-CA)
  • Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-CA)
  • Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-TX)
  • Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA)*
  • Rep. Mario Díaz-Balart (R-FL)*
  • Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ)
  • Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)*
  • Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX)
  • Resident Commissioner Jennifer Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR)
  • Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX)*
  • Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
  • Rep. Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM)
  • Rep. Jimmy Panetta (D-CA)
  • Rep. Bill Pascrell Jr. (D-NJ)
  • Delegate Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-MP)
  • Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA)
  • Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA)
  • Rep. Norma Torres (D-CA)
  • Rep. Juan Vargas (D-CA)
  • Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX)