Site Logo
HACU Tagline


July 31, 2019

USDA Selects 2019 Class of E. Kika De La Garza Fellows

The U.S. Department of Agriculture recently announced the 17 fellows from Hispanic-Serving Institutions for the 2019 Class of the E. Kika De La Garza Fellowship Program. The fellowships, awarded yearly since 1998, recognize highly accomplished staff and faculty at Hispanic-Serving Institutions. Their selection was based on the compatibility of their interests with USDA mission areas, as well as the value their experiences will add to their institutions' educational capacities. Most of the fellows are from HACU-member institutions (noted in bold).

The 2019 E. Kika De La Garza Education Fellows are:

  • Norma Jimenez Hernandez - Maricopa County Community College District, Avondale, Arizona
  • Natalia B. Santos - University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
  • Reetika Dhawan - Arizona Western College, Yuma, Arizona
  • Katherine Vilchez - Grossmont College, El Cajon, California
  • Srinivasa Konduru - California State University, Fresno, California
  • David M. Bowen - California State University, East Bay, Hayward, California
  • Andrés Hernández - University of California, Merced, California
  • George S. Sellu - Santa Rosa Junior College, Santa Rosa, California
  • María Calixta Ortiz - Ana G. Mendez University, San Juan, Puerto Rico
  • Savannah Rugg - Austin Community College, Austin, Texas
  • Fernando Acevedo - Palo Alto College, San Antonio, Texas
  • Sylvia De Leon - San Antonio College, San Antonio, Texas

The 2019 E. Kika De La Garza High School Education Fellow is:

  • Hernan Colmenero - IDEA Public Schools, Weslaco, Texas

    The 2019 E. Kika De La Garza Science Fellows are:

  • Andrew Sensenig - Fresno Pacific University, Fresno, California
  • Austin Avwunudiogba - Stanislaus State University, Turlock, California
  • Stephanie Rogus - New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, New Mexico
  • Monica O. Mendez - Texas A&M International University, Laredo, Texas