October 27, 2021 

Inaugural Fulbright HSI Leaders recognized at HACU’s 35th Annual Conference

The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs announced a new initiative recognizing those Hispanic-Serving Institutions with a strong engagement in the Fulbright Program. The institutions receiving the inaugural “Fulbright HSI Leaders” designation were announced Oct. 27, 2021, during the International Plenary of HACU’s 35th Annual Conference.

The designated institutions were recognized for their leadership during the remarks, “Thank you for creating a campus culture that celebrates the mission of Fulbright and international exchanges,” said Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Academic Programs Ethan Rosenzweig.

Thirty-five institutions were recognized as Fulbright HSI Leaders for promoting Fulbright Program opportunities on their campuses during the 2019-2021 academic years. The designated colleges and universities below include HACU-member institutions in bold.

Associate & Baccalaureate Institutions:

  • CUNY LaGuardia Community College
  • Skyline College
  • Whittier College

Masters Institutions:

  • California State University-Chico
  • California State University-Dominguez Hills
  • California State University-Fullerton
  • California State University-Long Beach
  • California State University-Northridge
  • CUNY Hunter College
  • CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
  • CUNY Lehman College
  • CUNY Queens College
  • Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus
  • Mills College
  • New Jersey City University
  • San Francisco State University
  • San Jose State University
  • Sonoma State University
  • St. Edward's University

Doctoral Institutions:

  • CUNY City College
  • CUNY The Graduate Center
  • Florida International University
  • Montclair State University
  • Rutgers University-Newark
  • San Diego State University
  • Texas Tech University
  • The University of Arizona
  • The University of New Mexico
  • University of California-Irvine
  • University of California-Riverside
  • University of California-Santa Barbara
  • University of California-Santa Cruz
  • University of Central Florida
  • University of Houston
  • University of Illinois at Chicago

See video remarks by Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Academic Programs Ethan Rosenzweig here: