Site Logo
HACU Tagline
 
 

Member Advisory – October 15, 2010

President Obama to Sign White House Initiative Executive Order on Tuesday, Oct. 19

Watch live via www.whitehouse.gov

As Hispanic Heritage Month draws to a close, the White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics invites you to watch as President Barack Obama signs the new executive order renewing the White House Initiative at 1 p.m. EDT, Tuesday, October 19. The event can be viewed live at www.whitehouse.gov.

The White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics strongly encourages you to plan a watch party to view this historic event. Join thousands nationwide in watching the President as he demonstrates his strong support for the critical role Hispanics play in the overall prosperity of the Nation and the Administration’s commitment to expanding education opportunities and improving education outcomes for all students. As the largest and fastest-growing minority group in the country and in the pre-K-12 public education system, the future of our Nation’s competitiveness is inextricably linked to improving education outcomes for Hispanics.  

Click here for a tool kit will assist you in organizing and promoting the event locally. The following are details about the signing ceremony:

What: White House Initiative Executive Order Signing Ceremony. View the Oct. 19 event live via the Web at www.whitehouse.gov.
Where: East Room, The White House, Washington, D.C.
Who: President Barack Obama, White House Initiative and Administration officials, and key Hispanic national and community leaders
When: Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2010 
1 p.m. EDT
Noon CDT           
11 a.m. MDT
10 a.m. PDT

Register your watch party or find a watch party near you.

Contact:
Ida R. Eblinger Kelley
Director, Hispanic Outreach and Communications
U.S. Department of Education
202-401-6143
 ida.kelley@ed.gov