November 10, 2020

Twenty students awarded Café Bustelo® El Café Del Futuro Scholarships totaling $100,000

The Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities has selected twenty students from HACU-member institutions to each receive a Café Bustelo® El Café del Futuro Scholarship of $5,000. Since 2016, $340,000 in college funds have been awarded to 69 Latino students nationwide through the partnership.

Students submitted essays describing how their Latino heritage, family and the community in which they grew up in impacted their desire and motivation to obtain a college degree. The Café Bustelo® El Café Del Futuro Scholarship recipients are from HACU-member institutions in California, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, and Texas.

The student recipients and their institutions are:

  • California State University, Bakersfield - Josefina Baltazar
  • California State University, Bakersfield - Nanette Perez
  • California State University, Fullerton - Frida Galilea Mendez-Arce
  • California State University, Fullerton - Janet Carreno
  • Florida International University - Kaytlin Alzugaray
  • Florida International University - Nicolas Valencia Diaz
  • Florida International University - Stefany Marjani
  • Fresno City College - Rosanna Villar
  • Miami Dade College - Carlos Manuel Moya Ramirez
  • Michigan State University - Angelica Ruvalcaba
  • Mount Saint Mary's University - Helen Franchesca Umana
  • Texas A&M International University - Valeria Lisset Leal
  • The University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley - Ariana Isabel Luna
  • University of California, Riverside - Mario Munoz
  • University of California, Santa Cruz - Amanda Brambilia
  • University of Central Florida - Camila Dominguez
  • University of Chicago - Celyn Bregio
  • University of San Diego - Nathaly Ruiz
  • University of Southern California - Katherine Escobar
  • University of Southern California - Walter Solorzano

The Café Bustelo® El Café del Futuro Scholarship is part of the 2020-21 HACU Scholarship Program.