April 28, 2022

Norma Jean Revilla-Garcia

Congratulations to the 25 semifinalist of the 2023 Aspen Prize

The Aspen Institute has announced 25 community colleges that are semi-finalists for the $1 million Aspen Prize. The Aspen Prize is the nation’s signature recognition of community colleges that are achieving high, improving, and equitable outcomes for students. In years past, only ten finalists have been named on the road to the winner, and this change is designed to highlight the increased number of colleges across the country doing excellent work.

Among the semi-finalists are ten Hispanic-Serving Institutions (HSI) from California (2), Florida (3), Illinois, New Jersey, New York, and Texas (2).

Six of the colleges - Elgin Community College, Hostos Community College (CUNY), Imperial Valley College, Moorpark College, San Jacinto College, and Union County College are HACU-member institutions. *

The 25 colleges are:

  • Amarillo College (Texas) - HSI
  • Broward College (Fla.) – HSI
  • Cloud County Community College (Kans.)
  • Elgin Community College (Ill.) – HSI*
  • Georgia Highlands College
  • Harper College (Ill.) 
  • Hostos Community College (N.Y.) – HSI*
  • Imperial Valley College (Calif.) – HSI*
  • Itawamba Community College (Miss.) 
  • Kingsborough Community College (N.Y.)
  • LaGuardia Community College (N.Y.) 
  • Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
  • Moorpark College (Calif.) – HSI*
  • North Iowa Area Community College
  • Northwest Iowa Community College
  • Pierce College District (Wash.)
  • San Jacinto College (Texas) – HSI*
  • Seminole State College of Florida - HSI
  • South Florida State College- HSI
  • South Puget Sound Community College (Wash.)
  • Southwest Wisconsin Technical College
  • Southwestern Community College (N.C.)
  • Tallahassee Community College (Fla.)
  • Union County College (N.J.) – HSI*
  • Western Technical College (Wisc.)
Awarded every two years, the Aspen Prize honors colleges with outstanding performance in five critical areas: teaching and learning, certificate and degree completion, transfer and bachelor’s attainment, workforce success, and equitable outcomes for students of color and students from low-income backgrounds. Ten finalists will be announced in early June 2022. The winner will be announced in the spring of 2023